

City Hall 215 E. McKinney St. Denton, Texas 76201 www.cityofdenton.com

Public Art Committee Minutes

After determining that a quorum of the City of Denton, Texas, **Public Art Committee** is present, the Chair of the Committee thereafter convened into an open meeting via video teleconference on Thursday, March 4, 2021 at 12:00 p.m. in the Council Work Session Room at City Hall, 215 E. McKinney Street, Denton, Texas.

<u>Present:</u> Chair Monet Franklin and Members Joey Liechty, Adam Chamberlin, Meredith Buie, Ed Steele, Frederick Nichelson, and Georgina Ngozi (Ex-Officio).

Absent: Vice Chair Michelle Lynn (Excused) and Alicia Eggert (Excused)

1. ITEMS FOR CONSIDERATION

A. Consider approval of the minutes of January 28, 2021.

Franklin moved to adopt the item as presented and Steele seconded. Motion carried.

AYES (4): Chair Monet Franklin and Members Joey Liechty, Ed Steele, and Adam Chamberlin.

NAYS (0): None

ABSENT (4): Vice Chair Michelle Lynn and Members Alicia Eggert, Meredith Buie, and Frederick Nichelson.

[Meredith Buie and Frederick Nichelson logged in at approximately 12:03 PM, immediately after the approval of the minutes].

- B. Receive a report, hold a discussion, and give staff input regarding the status of the following Public Art Committee projects:
 - 1. North Lakes Dog Park
 - 2. G. Roland Vela Athletic Complex
 - 3. Tennis Center
 - 4. Fire Station No. 3
 - 5. Foundations of Our History Mural
 - 6. MLK, Jr. Recreation Center Sculpture
 - 7. Denton Women's Interracial Fellowship Monument

The item was presented, and discussion followed.

Following discussion, there was no direction as the item was for presentation purposes.

C. Receive a report, hold a discussion, and give staff direction regarding the Public Art Committee Annual 2021 meeting schedule.

DocuSign Envelope ID: 9FB1B454-1242-4750-8A1E-E1411CEEE24C

City of Denton Public Art Committee Minutes Mach 4, 2020

Page 2

Member Steele moved to adopt the Public Art Committee Annual 2021 meeting schedule, but also commented to possibly revisiting the schedule on the next meeting based on the response of the two absent members, and Franklin seconded. Motion carried.

AYES (6): Chair Monet Franklin and Members Joey Liechty, Adam Chamberlin, Meredith Buie, Ed Steele, and Frederick Nichelson.

NAYS (0): None

ABSENT (2): Vice Chair Michelle Lynn and Member Alicia Eggert.

D. Receive nominations and elect a Chair and Vice-Chair for the Public Art Committee

Monet Franklin nominated herself as Chair. The Public Art Committee members voted (6-0).

Georgina Ngozi nominated Frederick Nichelson as Vice-Chair. Member Nicholson declined the nomination.

Nicholson nominated Meredith Buie as Vice-Chair. Member Buie declined the nomination.

Ed Steele nominated himself as Vice-Chair. The Public Art Committee members voted (6-0).

2. CONCLUDING ITEMS

Adjournment 12:33 p.m.

DocuSigned by:	DocuSigned by:
Monet Franklin 5/4/2021	Ferdinand Valdez 5/4/2021
MONET FRANKLIN	FERDINAND VALDEZ
CHAIR	MANAGEMENT ANALYST
CITY OF DENTON, TEXAS	CITY OF DENTON, TEXAS

MINUTES APPROVED ON: 4/16/2021