1 **MINUTES** 2 HEALTH AND BUILDING STANDARDS COMMISSION April 22, 2021 3 4 5 After determining that a quorum was present, the Health and Building Standards Commission of the City of Denton, Texas convened in a Work Session on Thursday, April 22, 2021, at 3:00 p.m. 6 7 in the Council Work Session Room at City Hall, 215 E. McKinney Street, Denton, Texas at which the following items were considered: 8 9 PRESENT: Commissioners: Greg Coward, David Mollen, Sebastian Delgadillo, Michael 10 Sweigart, and Torrey Mitchell 11 12 ABSENT: Commissioners: Tim Stoltzfus, and Cyndell Addison 13 14 15 STAFF: Scott McDonald, Emily Loiselle, Amber Rodgers, Stephanie Berry, and Selena Dillard. 16 17 Note: Commissioners Greg Coward, David Mullen, Sebastian Delgadillo, Michael Sweigart, 18 Torrey Mitchell, Tim Stoltzfus, and Cyndell Addison participated in the Health and Building 19 Standards meeting via video/teleconference. 20 21 22 **REGULAR MEETING** 23 24 Scott McDonald, Director of Development Services/Chief Building Official, opened the meeting 25 at 3:05 p.m. 26 He noted that Commissioner Matthew Jendusa had resigned from the Commission, and that 27 Commissioners Tim Stoltzfus, and Cyndell Addison were absent. 28 29 30 Scott McDonald nominated Greg Coward as temporary Chair. Greg Coward accepted with no 31 other nominations. 32 33 1. ITEMS FOR CONSIDERATION A. Election of a Chair and Vice Chair 34 35 36 Commissioner David Mollen motioned to nominate Greg Coward as Chair. Motion approved (4-3-0) 37 38 39 AYES (4): Commissioners: Greg Coward, David Mollen, Michael Sweigart, and Sebastian Delgadillo 40 NAYS (0): None. 41 RECUSED (0): None. 42 ABSENT (3): Commissioners: Tim Stoltzfus, Torrey Mitchell, Cyndell Addison. 43

1 ABSTAINED (0): None. 2 Commissioner Torrey Mitchell was present, but due to technical difficulties she was unable to 3 vote for the chair. 4 5 Commissioner Sebastian Delgadillo motioned to nominate himself as Vice-Chair. Motion 6 7 approved. (5-2-0) 8 AYES (5): Commissioners: Greg Coward, David Mollen, Michael Sweigart, Torrey Mitchell, 9 and Sebastian Delgadillo 10 NAYS (0): None. 11 RECUSED (0): None. 12 13 ABSENT (2): Commissioners: Tim Stoltzfus, and Cyndell Addison. ABSTAINED (0): None. 14 15 B. Consider approval on the January 18, 2018, August 16, 2018, and February 21, 2019 16 17 minutes. 18 Commissioner Mollen motioned to approve the minutes. Motion seconded by Michael Sweigart. 19 Motion approved. (5-2-0) 20 21 AYES (5): Chair: Greg Coward, Commissioners: David Mollen, Michael Sweigart, Torrey 22 23 Mitchell, and Sebastian Delgadillo NAYS (0): None. 24 25 RECUSED (0): None. ABSENT (2): Commissioners: Tim Stoltzfus, and Cyndell Addison. 26 ABSTAINED (0): None. 27 28 C. Introduction of new Commissioners Torrey Mitchell, Sebastian Delgadillo, and Greg 29 Coward. 30 31 Chair Coward, Vice-Chair Delgadillo, and Commissioner Mitchell introduced themselves to the 32 Commission. 33 34 D. Receive a report and hold a discussion regarding the Boards and Commissions 35 36 attendance policy. 37 Selena Dillard, Administrative Assistant, discussed the attendance policy with the Commission. 38 39 E. Receive a report and hold a discussion on the proposed adoption of 2021 Building 40 Codes and 2020 National Electric Codes. 41 42

- Scott McDonald and Emily Loiselle, Assistant Building Official, gave a report to the
 Commission regarding the proposed Building and Electric Codes.
- 4 A discussion followed.
- 6 2. <u>CONCLUDING ITEMS</u>
- 8 Chair Coward adjourned the meeting at 3:43 p.m.

X Gry Coward

5/19/2021

Greg Coward

Chair

10

3

5

7

9