1	MINUTES
2	HEALTH AND BUILDING STANDARDS COMMISSION
3	June 3, 2021
4	
5	After determining that a quorum was present, the Health and Building Standards Commission of
6	the City of Denton, Texas convened in a Regular Meeting on Thursday, June 3, 2021, at 3:00 p.m.
7	in the Council Work Session Room at City Hall, 215 E. McKinney Street, Denton, Texas at which
8	the following items were considered:
9	
10	PRESENT: Chair Greg Coward, and Commissioners: David Mollen, Sebastian
11	Delgadillo, and Torrey Mitchell
12	
13	ABSENT: Commissioners: Michael Sweigart, Tim Stoltzfus, and Cyndell Addison
14	
15	STAFF: Emily Loiselle, Amber Rodgers, Billy Ewton, Stephanie Berry, and Selena
16	Dillard.
17	
18	Note: Commissioners Greg Coward, David Mullen, Sebastian Delgadillo, Michael Sweigart,
19	Torrey Mitchell, Tim Stoltzfus, and Cyndell Addison participated in the Health and Building
20	Standards meeting via video/teleconference.
21	
22	REGULAR MEETING
23	
24	Chair Greg Coward opened the meeting at 3:18 p.m.
25	
26	It was noted that Commissioners Michael Sweigart, Tim Stoltzfus, and Cyndell Addison were
27	absent.
28	
29	1. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE
30	
31	A. U.S. Flag
32	B. Texas Flag
33	
34	2. ITEMS FOR CONSIDERATION
35	
36	A. Consider approval of the May 13, 2021 minutes.
37	
38	Commissioner David Mollen motioned to approve the May 13, 2021 meeting minutes. Motion
39	seconded by Commissioner Torrey Mitchell. Motion approved (4-0-0-3-0)
40	
41	AYES (4): Chair Greg Coward, Commissioners: Sebastian Delgadillo, David Mollen, and Torrey
42	Mitchell.
43	NAYS (0): None.
44	RECUSED (0): None.

ABSENT (3): Commissioners: Michael Sweigart, Tim Stoltzfus, and Cyndell Addison.
ABSTAINED (0): None.

3 4

5

6

7 8

9

B. Receive a report, hold a discussion and give staff direction relating the process for updates to the construction codes and standards as adopted by the City. (International Codes: Building, Fire, Existing Building, Residential, Mechanical, Plumbing, Fuel Gas, Swimming Pool and Spa, Energy Code and the National Electric Code). The primary focus will be on the National Electric Code, The International Mechanical, Plumbing, Fuel Gas codes and any associated references to the other codes as applicable.

10 11

A discussion followed regarding future meeting dates and procedures.

12 13 14

2. CONCLUDING ITEMS

15 16

Commissioner Sebastian Delgadillo motioned to adjourn the meeting. Motion seconded by Commissioner Mitchell. Motion approved (4-0-0-3-0)

17 18

- 19 AYES (4): Chair Greg Coward, Commissioners: Sebastian Delgadillo, David Mollen, and Torrey
- 20 Mitchell.
- 21 NAYS (0): None.
- 22 RECUSED (0): None.
- 23 ABSENT (3): Commissioners: Michael Sweigart, Tim Stoltzfus, and Cyndell Addison.
- 24 ABSTAINED (0): None.

25

26 Chair Greg Coward adjourned the meeting at 3:28 p.m.

Sebastian Delgadillo Vice-Chair