City of Denton Special Citizens Bond Advisory Committee

After determining that a quorum was present, the Special Citizens Bond Advisory Committee of the City of Denton, Texas convened in a meeting on Wednesday, June 7, 2023, at 6:00 p.m. in Training Rooms 1-5 at the Development Services Center, 401 N. Elm Street, Denton, Texas.

PRESENT: Chair Kevin Roden, Chair Pro Tem Suzanne Rumohr, and Members Kimberly Thaggard, Lauren Fischer, Linnie McAdams, Mendie White, Nanci Kimmey, Natalie Nichelson, Pati Haworth, Peggy Capps, Jeff Bowerman, Randy Robinson, Rob Houdek, Tim Crouch, Aida Urquidez, Bertram Jennings, Brian Danhof, Byron Woods, Clay Thurmond, Gary Henderson, Harry Eaddy, Jesse Davis, Jill Eckardt, John Cartwright, John Ryan, Julianne Remski, Larry Lewis, Janet Shelton, David Shuck, Kristine Bray, Keri McGovern, Brand Richter, Cynthia Hill, Aaron Newquist.

ABSENT: Members Marie Trevino, Frank King, and Diana Leggett, Tamsyn Price, Eva Poole, Greg Johnson.

1. ITEMS FOR CONSIDERATION

A. <u>CBAC23-012</u> Consider approval of the minutes for June 1, 2023.

Member Nichelson moved to approve the minutes as presented; motion seconded by Member Capps. Motion carried.

AYES (34): Chair Roden, Chair Pro Tem Rumohr, and Members Thaggard, Fischer, McAdams, White, Kimmey, Nichelson, Haworth, Capps, Bowerman, Robinson, Houdek, Crouch, Urquidez, Jennings, Danhof, Woods, Thurmond, Henderson, Eaddy, Davis, Eckardt, Cartwright, Remski, Lewis, Shelton, Shuck, Bray, McGovern, Richter, Hill, and Newquist.

NAYS (0):

ABSENT (6): Members Trevino, King, Leggett, Price, Poole, and Greg Johnson.

B. <u>CBAC23-013</u> Receive a report and hold a discussion regarding the scope and processes relating to items to be addressed and discussed during the meetings of the Special Citizens Bond Advisory Committee.

Member Haworth moved to have the committee adopt a standing rule that all future meetings include only staff presentations, open Q&A and open discussion by the committee as a whole moderated by the chair, discussions shall not be restricted in topics to be discussed as long as they are within the general realm of this bond election; motion seconded by Member Shuck.

Discussion followed.

Member Nichelson called for the question. Passed by consensus.

Motion failed.

AYES (3): Member Haworth, Cartwright and Remski.

NAYS (31): Chair Roden, Chair Pro Tem Rumohr, and Members Thaggard, Fischer, McAdams, White, Kimmey, Nichelson, Capps, Bowerman, Robinson, Houdek, Crouch, Urquidez, Jennings, Danhof, Woods, Thurmond, Henderson, Eaddy, Davis, Eckardt, Lewis, Shelton, Shuck, Bray, McGovern, Richter, Hill, and Newquist.

ABSENT (6): Members Trevino, King, Leggett, Price, Poole, and Greg Johnson.

Special Citizens Bond Advisory Committee June 7, 2023 Page 2

Member Thurmond move to accept the proposed process with the one adjustment of flipping the committee Q&A with Small group time; motion seconded by Member Remski.

Discussion followed. Member McAdams called for the question.

Motion carried.

AYES (16): Members Bray, Robinson, Kimmey, Remski, McGovern, McAdams, Thurmond, Cartwright, Davis, Richter, Houdek, Jennings, Ryan, White, Shuck, Haworth.

NAYS (15): Chair Roden, Chair Pro Tem Rumohr, and Members Danhof, Capps, Crouch, Hill, Urquidez, Bowerman, Lewis, Nichelson, Eaddy, Shelton, Fisher, Eckhardt, Newquist.

ABSENT (6): Member Trevino, King, Leggett, Price, Poole, and Greg Johnson.

Member Couch moved to accept the proposed process for meetings 5 and 6; motion seconded by Member Thurmond. Discussion followed.

Motion carried.

AYES (34): Chair Roden, Chair Pro Tem Rumohr, and Members Thaggard, Fischer, McAdams, White, Kimmey, Nichelson, Capps, Bowerman, Robinson, Houdek, Crouch, Urquidez, Jennings, Danhof, Woods, Thurmond, Henderson, Eaddy, Davis, Eckardt, Lewis, Shelton, Shuck, Bray, McGovern, Richter, Hill, Newquist. Haworth, Cartwright and Remski.

NAYS (0):

Chair

ABSENT (6): Members Trevino, King, Leggett, Price, Poole, and Greg Johnson.

C. <u>CBAC23-014</u> Receive a report and hold a discussion regarding updates on:

- a. Trails;
- b. Animal Shelter;
- c. City Hall West.

The item was presented, and discussion followed.

2. CONCLUDING ITEMS

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 8:43 p.m.

NON Kevin Roden

Tammy Peal Recording Secretary

June 15, 2028 MINUTES APPROVED ON: