City of Denton Parks, Public Art Committee Minutes August 3, 2023

After determining that a quorum of the City of Denton, Texas, Public Art Committee was present, the Committee convened in a Regular Meeting on Thursday, August 3, 2023, at 4:00 p.m. in the Civic Center Community Room at 321 E. McKinney Street, Denton, Texas.

Present: Chair Monet Franklin, Vice-Chair Adam Chamberlin and Members Joey Liechty, Leigh Johnson, Valois Vera, Jennifer Lane, Francesca Romano, and Frederick Nichelson

Absent: None

1. PRESENTATIONS FROM MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC

None

2. ITEMS FOR CONSIDERATION

A. PAC23-017: Consider approval of the minutes of June 1, 2023.

Vice-Chair Chamberlain moved to adopt the item as presented; Member Johnson seconded. Motion carried.

AYES (5): Chair Franklin, Vice-Chair Chamberlin, and Members Vera, Johnson, and Liechty.

NAYS (0): None

ABSENT FOR VOTE (3): Members Lane, Nichelson, and Romano

B. PAC23-018: Receive a report, hold a discussion, and give input to staff regarding the status of National Humane Alliance Fountain

The item was presented, and discussion followed.

Following discussion, staff was provided no direction.

- C. PAC23-009: Receive a report, hold a discussion, and give input to staff regarding the status of the following Public Art Committee projects:
 - 1. Original Denton District (ODD)
 - a. TCA Letters of Support, Annual Report, and Grant Application
 - b. Traffic Box Wraps
 - 2. Tennis Center
 - 3. Upcoming projects
 - a. Sycamore Street Mural
 - b. S. Bonnie Brae Sculpture
 - 4. Art Maintenance and Repair
 - a. Dallas Drive Murals
 - 5. Future Projects
 - a. Chairy Orchard

The item was presented, and discussion followed.

Following discussion, staff was provided the following direction:

Vice-chair Chamberlain moved to select a replacement artist for the Sycamore Street Bridge mural from one of the previous three submissions; Chair Franklin seconded. Motion carried.

AYES (5): Chair Franklin, Vice-Chair Chamberlin, and Members Vera, Johnson, and Liechty.

NAYS (2): Members Lane, and Romano

ABSENT (0): None

Chair Franklin moved to select Kirk Seese as the new artist for the Sycamore Street Bridge mural; Member Leigh seconded. Motion carried.

AYES (5): Chair Franklin, Vice-Chair Chamberlin, and Members, Romano, Johnson, and Liechty.

NAYS (2): Members Lane, and Vera.

ABSENT (0): None

Staff was encouraged to strive to maintain the original spirit of the Chairy Orchard and consider the possibility of using chairs at bus stops, on parade floats, and in fundraising events.

3. CONCLUDING ITEMS

None

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 5:14 p.m.

MONET FRANKLIN

MEMBER

CITY OF DENTON, TEXAS

ROBIN HILL

ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT

CITY OF DENTON, TEXAS

MINUTES APPROVED ON:_

10/5/23