CITY OF DENTON CITY COUNCIL MINUTES May 14, 2019

The City Council convened in the Work Session Room on Tuesday, May 14, 2019, at 5:30 p.m. to attend a reception in their honor.

After determining that a quorum was present, the City Council convened in a Special Called Meeting on Tuesday, May 14, 2019, at 6:30 p.m., in the Council Work Session Room at City Hall 215 E. McKinney Street, Denton, Texas.

PRESENT: Mayor Chris Watts, Mayor Pro Tem John Ryan and Council Members Gerard Hudspeth, Keely Briggs, Paul Meltzer, and Deb Armintor

ABSENT: Council Member Don Duff

Also present were City Manager Todd Hileman and City Attorney Aaron Leal.

1. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

- A. U.S. Flag
- B. Texas Flag

2. ITEMS FOR INDIVIDUAL CONSIDERATION

A. ID 19-1008 Consider adoption of an ordinance canvassing the returns and declaring the results of the Regular Municipal Election to elect four City Council Members to Districts 1, 2, 3, and 4 in the City of Denton, Texas held in the City of Denton on May 4, 2019; and providing an effective date.

ASSIGNED ORDINANCE NO. 19-1008

The election results reported the following; as a result, each candidate qualified for election to the noted district. As a result of each candidate having received over 50% of total votes cast in their respective district, a runoff election was not necessary.

District 1	Gerard Hudspeth	Elected
District 2	Keely Briggs	Elected
District 3	Jesse Davis	Elected
District 4	John Ryan	Elected

Council Member Meltzer moved to approve the item as presented. Motion seconded by Council Member Armintor. Motion carried.

AYES (6): Mayor Watts, Mayor Pro Tem Ryan and Council Members Hudspeth, Briggs, Meltzer and Armintor

NAYS (0): None

ABSENT (1): Council Member Duff

- ID 19-1009 Issue the following to newly Elected Council Members:
 - Certificate of Election
 - Statement of Officer
 - Oath of Office

Mayor Watts presented the newly elected members, noted below with a Certificate of Election, after which City Secretary Rios administered the Statement of Officer and Oath of Office to each.

District 1	Gerard Hudspeth
District 2	Keely Briggs
District 3	Jesse Davis
District 4	John Ryan

C. ID 19-1010 Election of Mayor Pro Tem

Mayor Watts reiterated an earlier communication from City Secretary Rios on the process under which nominations and motions for election of the Mayor Pro Tem would be taken/considered.

Mayor Pro Tem Ryan nominated Council Member Hudspeth.

Council Member Armintor nominated Council Member Briggs.

Following the inquiry as to whether a second to the motion made to elect the Mayor Pro Tem was needed, City Attorney Leal reported a second to that motion was not needed.

Mayor Pro Tem Ryan moved to elect Council Member Hudspeth as Mayor Pro Tem. Motion carried.

AYES (5): Mayor Watts, Mayor Pro Tem Ryan and Council Members Hudspeth, Briggs, and Davis

NAYS (2): Council Members Meltzer and Armintor

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 6:49 p.m.

CHRIS WATTS

MAYOR

CITY OF DENTON, TEXAS

ROSA RIOS

CITY SECRETARY

CITY OF DENTON, TEXAS

MINUTES APPROVED ON: 5-21-2019