MINUTES

CITY OF DENTON

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT PARTNERSHIP BOARD October 14, 2020

After determining that a quorum was present, the Economic Development Partnership Board convened on Wednesday, October 14, 2020, at **11:05 a.m**., in the City Council Work Session Room at City Hall, 215 E. McKinney Street, Denton, Texas, 76201.

PRESENT: John Baines (Chair), Jill Jester (Vice Chair), Keely Briggs, Tony Clark, Jesse Davis, Bob Eames, Steve Edgar, Mark McLellan, Lee Ramsey, Jason Tomlinson, Erica Pangburn (ex-officio), and Jamie Wilson (ex-officio).

ABSENT: Chris Davis, Jimmy Mejia, and Todd Hileman (ex-officio)

Also present were Jessica Rogers (Board Liaison), David Gaines, Mack Reinwand, Dan Rosenfield, Erica Sullivan, Kay Brown-Patrick, and Charlie Dromgoole (Chamber of Commerce).

Note: John Baines, Keely Briggs, Tony Clark, Jesse Davis, Bob Eames, Steve Edgar, Jill Jester, Mark McLellan, Lee Ramsey, and Jason Tomlinson participated in the meeting via video/teleconference under the provisions allowed by the Texas Government Code Section 551.127.

1. ITEMS FOR CONSIDERATION

A. <u>EDP20-047</u> Receive nominations and elect a chairperson and vice-chairperson of the Economic Development Partnership Board for Fiscal Year 2020-2021.Consider approval of the meeting minutes of November 13, 2019 and January 15, 2020.

Briggs nominated John Baines as chair for the EDPB. McLellan seconded the motion. Motion carried (9-0).

AYES (9): Baines, Briggs, Clark, Eames, Edgar, Jester, McLellan, Ramsey, Tomlinson

NAYS (0): None

ABSENT WHEN VOTE TAKEN (1): J. Davis

Tomlinson nominated Jill Jester as vice-chair for the EDPB. Briggs seconded the motion. Motion carried (8-0).

AYES (8): Baines, Briggs, Clark, Eames, Edgar, McLellan, Ramsey, Tomlinson

NAYS (0): None

ABSENT WHEN VOTE TAKEN (1): J. Davis

ABSTAINED (1): Jester

B. <u>EDP20-044</u> Consider approval of the minutes of September 9, 2020.

Eames made a motion to approve the minutes of September 9, 2020. Jester seconded the motion. Motion carried (8-0).

AYES (8): Baines, Briggs, Clark, Eames, Edgar, Jester, McLellan, Tomlinson

NAYS (0): None

ABSENT WHEN VOTE TAKEN (1): J. Davis

ABSTAINED (1): Ramsey

C. <u>EDP20-048</u> Receive a report, hold a discussion, and appoint or reappoint members of the Downtown Economic Development Committee.

Staff presented the item. Current Downtown Economic Development Committee (DEDC) Members Peggy Capps, John Cartwright, Hank Dickenson, Brock McKnight, Alex Payne, and Michael Talley had completed their initial one-year term and are eligible for reappointment to the DEDC. Marty Rivers, who had termed off the EDPB in September, was serving as the EDPB representative and Chair of the DEDC.

Clark made a motion to reappoint Capps, Cartwright, Dickenson, McKnight, Payne, and Talley as members of the Downtown Economic Development Committee. Jester seconded. Motion carried (9-0).

AYES (9): Baines, Briggs, Clark, Eames, Edgar, Jester, McLellan, Ramsey, Tomlinson

NAYS (0): None

ABSENT WHEN VOTE TAKEN (1): J. Davis

The Board provided direction to consider the EDPB representative on the DEDC at a future meeting.

J. Davis arrived at 11:18 a.m.

D. <u>EDP20-050</u> Receive a report, hold a discussion, and give staff direction regarding a business retention and expansion program for economic development.

Staff presented the reports. No action was taken.

Eames left at 11: 30 a.m.

E. <u>EDP20-049</u> Receive a report, hold a discussion, and give staff direction regarding the meeting dates and times for Fiscal Year 2020-2021.

McLellan made a motion to approve the meeting dates and times for Fiscal Year 2020-2021. Ramsey seconded the motion.

AYES (9): Baines, Briggs, Clark, J. Davis, Edgar, Jester, McLellan, Ramsey, Tomlinson

NAYS (0): None

ABSENT WHEN VOTE TAKEN (1): Eames

F. EDP20-045 Staff Reports:

- 1. Statistical Trends and News of Denton Report
- 2. Monthly Chamber Activity Report

Staff presented the staff reports. No action was taken.

2. CONCLUDING ITEMS

None.

With no further business, the meeting adjourned at 11:53pm.

John Baines, Chair	Jessica Rogers, Staff Liaison
Economic Development Partnership Board	Director of Economic Development
Minutes Approved On:	